Top 5 Best Presidents Who Served Trinidad & Tobago Well| Number 1 Is Suprising

The President of Trinidad and Tobago is the head of state of Trinidad and Tobago and the commander-in-chief of the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force. The office was established when the country became a republic in 1976 before which the head of state was Queen Elizabeth II. The last Governor-General, Sir Ellis Clarke, was sworn in as the first President on 1 August 1976 under a transitional arrangement. He was formally chosen as President by an electoral college consisting of members of both houses of Parliament on 24 September 1976, which is now celebrated as Republic Day.

Under the 1976 constitution, the President is the nominal source of executive power. Like the British Sovereign (and heads of state in other Westminster systems), he or she “reigns but does not rule”. In practice, executive authority is exercised by the Prime Minister and his or her cabinet, on behalf of the President. The President appoints as Prime Minister the leader of the largest party in the House of Representatives and also appoints members of the Senate on the recommendation of the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition. The President must be at least 35 years old (although no President has been younger than 59), a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago, and at the time of nomination must have been resident in the country for an unbroken period of ten years.

Today, a compiled list of top 5 best presidents who have served the people of Trinidad and Tobago well and deserves some accolades have been released.

5. Noor Hassanali

The late HE Noor Mohamed Hassanali TC  was the second president of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (1987–1997). A retired high court judge, president Hassanali was the first Indo-Trinidadian and Muslim to hold the office of President of Trinidad and Tobago and was the first Muslim head of a state in the Western Hemisphere. After serving his people for 10 years, he died on 25 August 2006 after 9 years after office.

Prev1 of 5
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

indapaper © 2017 Frontier Theme
%d bloggers like this: